My skincare routine at the moment Part 1

Hi there, I want to write something about my skincare routine and products I am using at the moment. I have suffered from acne and breakouts from when I was 10 years old, I made all the mistakes that people with acne do like using harsh and overdrying facial wash, face scrubs and toners loaded with alcohol, while not using enough moisturiser which basically lead to not only having more sebum on my skin with lots of breakouts and blackheads, but also dry and peeling skin around my face, especially around my nose and I remember that I had what I called eye brow dandruff. Just like most women from western hemisphere, I started taking my skin more seriously after I turned 25, it was a result of those skincare articles with skincare milestones and what you need to provide for your skin. After I hit 30 and started noticing first fine lines on my face, anti-aging skincare became even more important to me. I still suffer from occasional breakouts, have large pores and try to keep my sebum in check, especially if my skincare slips a bit (like when I had my children and I was happy when I could have just a quick shower). Anyway, keeping my skin well cleansed is still important, but now I prefer gentler approach and use more moisturisers and steps in my routine. I am also on budget, so I can’t promise any fancy products, but I am pretty sure I am not the only one who use these products.

Morning

WP_20160606_11_25_44_Pro

I start my day with washing my face with a gentle facial wash. At the moment I am using Nivea Refreshing Facial Wash Gel. It really is a nice morning pick-me-up for my face while being gentle. It contains vitamin E and Hydra IQ that is supposed to cleanse and hydrate by supporting the skin’s own moisture balance. It is also dirt cheap and I bought mine for just £2 (there are always half price sales on Nivea somewhere).

If I didn’t remove my eye makeup properly and have a little mascara leftover on my eyes, I  use Yves Rocher Sebo Végétal Purifying Micellar Water 2 in 1. Although it is  for combination to oily skin, I find it gentle enough and it does not sting my eyes.

Next step is toning mostly because I want to remove any leftover dirt and sweat after my sleep and to close my pores and balance skin’s pH. The toner I am using at the moment is Urban Veda Purifying Hydrating Toner infused with Ayurvedic Neem with Organic Aloe Vera, Witch Hazel, Wild Mint, Quassia, provitaming B5 and Amino Acids. I definitely feel the mint coming through when toning and I really love it in the morning, plus it doesn’t cause any stinging on my skin.

As after 30 I started noticing a little pigmentation under my eyes and my eye lid got a bit darker in colour, I always use eye cream with SPF in the morning. At the moment it is Boots Vitamin E Gentle Eye Cream with SPF15. It is gentle, doesn’t irritate my eyes and if I dab and gently blend it and leave it to dry properly, it  leaves just a tiny o SPF white film that is hardly visible.

Before I put my moisturiser, I like to apply Yves Rocher Elixir 7.9 Youth Reactivating Day Care. I also had a small sized night version of this product and I love both because they make my skin so soft, I like touching it and I also use it for my neck:) I use it as a serum so I apply with a light hand and it has a light texture. It is suitable for sensitive skin as it doesn’t contain any perfumes. Now, this is a bit pricier costing £35.50, but there are always sales on Yves Rocher website like half price or 2 for 1 and sometimes it also pops up as a free gift with purchase.

If I want to use foundation, I use Avon  Nutra Effects Active Seed Complex with SPF15 which is a nice light moisturiser and got it on promotion for around £3. If I think that I have good skin day, I use Nivea Daily Essentials BB Cream in Light which is 5 in 1 moisturiser. It is an okay BB cream, I hated it at first, but now when the weather got better I started liking it more although need to apply some powder after a few hours.

