Amazon Beauty – Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay

wp_20161012_09_43_55_rich-2

As a person with oily skin, large pores and blackheads (although those are manageable with proper care), I couldn’t be without a good clay mask. We all saw that all the companies went a bit mask-crazy with their releases (I got Vichy ones, I got the L’Oréal one, but it got a bit too much when the Body Shop released theirs so I put buying those after I finish what I already have), but I was on the lookout for a good value clay mask early this year before all these releases as I ran out of my clay mask (I know, how could that happen) and as I was browsing everywhere, I came across the offering of clay powders on Amazon’s website and I chose Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay.

wp_20161012_09_45_16_pro-2

Information on the tub says the clay can be used for facials, acne, bodywraps, clay baths, foot soaks, chilled clay for knee packs and insect bites. What I liked about it is, that a 2lb tub cost me only £13 at the time, it is 100% natural calcium bentonite (green) clay powder which means you can customise your mask however you want and you know exactly what went inside. You can only use water to mix with it, apple cider vinegar or add whichever other liquid or powder ingredient you want. I usually use a teaspoon of apple cider vinegar or lemon juice, dash of olive oil, coconut oil or one of the facial oils I am using and enough water to mix it into a smooth paste. It is also recommended to use non-metal bowl and utensils, so I use a baby spoon that my children don’t use anymore.

The directions recommend to leave it on for 5-10 minutes for delicate skin and 15-20 minutes for normal skin. I usually leave it on for longer than that, like up to one hour or, if I feel very brave, till all the clay completely dries out. I am not gonna lie, however long you decide to leave it on till you remove it, it always gonna be a messy business. If you leave it on for the stated 15-20 minutes, it is basically like a standard clay mask, just a bit thicker. However, if you leave it till your clay dries, you really get your face squeaky clean and lovely smooth skin BUT removing it might be hardcore, something like having a Brazilian all over your face, so be sure if you want to try it, you really avoid eyebrows or other sideburns if you have some, unless you want to have a facial and waxing in one. Trust me, I use wax on my upper lip regularly but I still feel every little hair pulling afterwards if I do the hardcore fully dried mask. I usually peel of the bigger dried bits with leaned above a big bin and what I cannot peel off (or am beat up by the pain of it), wipe off the rest with a soaked face muslin. Don’t be alarmed, if your face looks like a tomato, it is normal especially where the clay dried. The redness will disappear within an hour but for that fact, I usually do this mask in the evening before going to bed.

Overall I am very happy with this mask, although it is messy and painful to remove, if left to dry completely, but I feel benefits of all the ingredients I used and I think I’ll definitely buy another tub after I am finished with the one I have.

 

