October Empties

wp_20161018_12_19_37_rich-2

I didn’t want to do this post before the end of the month but  my empty bag got full again.

Skincare

Simple Kind To Skin Pore Minimising Toning Cleanser is not my favourite make up remover I have to say, I would probably recommend it more as a morning cleanser for those who don’t like using facial wash like me, as it is a clear gel with fresh fragrance that can be also used as a toner. But I always do facial wash with a separate toner morning and evening and prefer other types of cleanser to remove my makeup in the evening and while this was ok to remove foundation and powder from my face, I didn’t find it very good at removing oild based makeup products like lipstick, liquid lipstick especially. Don’t plan to repurchase even if I didn’t have loads of stuff at home.

Simple Clear Skin Oil Balancing Facial Scrub is good as any other manual facial scrub for the price point to be honest, although those who like gentle, not very gritty facial scrub should like it. For me, nothing special.

Boots Essentials Fragrance Free Eye Make Up Remover Lotion cheap (£1.50, sometimes on promotion even £1) old goodie. Maybe not as good as beloved Garnier 2in1 eye make up remover but for that price definitely one of the best. Creamy so my eyes don’t feel dry after removing the make up like after some water based removers (I am 35, after all, so I don’t like product I used to like in my early 20s anymore even if my skin is still oily).

La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo (+) Unifiant is only a sample that I got with my feelunique purchase but I will definitely buy a full size for next summer instead of different bb creams. It is light, tinted moisturiser that feels comfortable, light is a good match for my skin and simply something for those no makeup days.

La Roche-Posay Serozinc I mentioned in two posts already and it was also in my August empties. My skin saviour from breakouts, acne skin must-have. A definite repurchase.

Manuka Doctor Facial Normalising Facial Oil is besides the Serozinc another saviour I can recommend for oily skin after the summer full of breakouts. It really balances your natural oils and although it does not make my pores to disappear or shrink (I don’t think this is possible with any non-invasive method), somehow it smoothes (is that a real word, I hope) them out and helps my skin to have that inner glow or je ne sais quoi as you could say. At the moment I have 3 other facial oils I want to use up but I am not ruling out repurchasing it at some point in the future.

The Body Shop Vitamin E Eye Cream I would probably appreciate more in the summer or 10 years ago for its light texture, but at 35 despite having oily skin, I just feel I need something more to prevent aging around the eyes.

wp_20161018_12_51_19_rich-2

 

Haircare

Philip Kingsley Elasticizer Geranium&Neroli is a 40 ml minisize I got in one of Latest In Beauty boxes and I have to admit it took me ages to use it up. I usually wash my hair in the evening so remembering  30-20 before washing my hair to apply this was almost impossible for me (as I feed my children and husband, do the dishwashing and then wash them and put to bed -the children, not husband), so when I go to shower I just quickly want to get over it and lay down. Even if I remembered and put it on for 20 minutes before shower, I didn’t notice  any dramatic change. However, if I put it on on Friday/Saturday night and washed my hair next morning, I did feel like my hair was softer and more manageable than usual, so I would like to buy a full size one day.

Ginger Anti-Dandruff Shampoo Dry/Flaky Scalp is a nice everyday shampoo providing gingery freshness. Even though my dandruff is not as bad since I live in the UK, I always need some anti-dandruff shampoo to alternate with those providing for haircare. No repurchase at the moment as I have others in my stash, but possibly in the future.

Avon Naturals Herbal Hair Care Chamomile&Aloe Complete Recovery Treatment Mask is something I bought for just 80p on sale. It works well as any other for more pounds than this one, although I use it more as a conditioner, so I am definitely not ruling out a repurchase.

wp_20161018_12_21_18_rich-2

Body

Yves Rocher Blackberries Shower Gel, Blackberries Body Lotion and Blackberries Hand Cream. You probably noticed I like buying whole set of my toiletries and Yves Rocher are one of my favourite companies for body sets. Not overly expensive (there are always some promotions going on their website), reasonably mosturising with heavenly blackberry scent (yes, I love the scent of fruit in my body products). I am not sure whether this was not a limited edition as Yves Rocher does around Christmas time, but is my storage was not overwelmed from the Body Shop sales I overindulged, I would happily buy again. Love.

Grace Cole Nectarine Blossom & Grapefruit Smoothing Hand and Body Cream was part of a set that I got in Secret Santa at work last year (it only shows I really have to limit myself when I see sales).  Lotion is more what I would describe this than cream. It is moisturising, I can see it on my hands (I used it as a hand cream), but although I like hand creams that soak in quickly, I don’t know  what it is that this cream contains, maybe fragrance, but somehow skin on my fingers feels dry after applying this. No intend to repurchase.

Avon Foot Works Beautiful Mint&Aloe Cooling Lotion is an ok foot lotion, but not the best I ever used and if I’m honest I didn’t really feel much of a cooling effect so I am in no hurry to repurchase, if Avon still sell it.

Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula Bust Cream was mentioned in my summer favourites and I still stand by what I wrote. Not only is this one of the best value bust cream, it is simply the best I had. I am not saying that I am buying most expensive cosmetics (quite the opposite), but I had bust creams close to £20 and I still didn’t find them as good as this stuff and I consider most Palmer’s product my favourite value toiletteries/body products.

Avon Caribbean Paradise is another suprise for me. I am not saying that it is super exceptional fragrance, but I was kind of expecting that it is just one of those standard everyday summer scents that are almost the same, they just put a bit different name (I think Avon releases too many fragrances a year or I just got bored), but I really like this one. I am not sure whether I should try to describe it because fragrance is quite individual so it is better to smell it before buying it, but top note is hibiscus, middle mango and base notes are amber and wood. I prefer fresh fruity and floral than heavy musky scents, so go figure:)

Make up

Maybelline New York Illegal Length Mascara is to be honest not the best I had, more somewhere in the middle, but still ok for every day. It does lengthen the lashes, but I feel like it also reduce number of them and I prefer mascara that seperates my lashes as I don’t have many of them. I didn’t fully finish it, I could still use it, but it’s been 6 months since I opened it and I’ll happily move it to the bin.

