Used Up Products – Empties for December 2016

img_20170107_132537155

It is that time again when my empties bag got full after around 6 weeks. Sorry for the quality of the photos but after the accident I  had, it is a bit difficult for me to  stand and fiddle with pictures, especially in this weather when the whole day looks like an evening:)

img_20170107_133042762

Skincare

Simple Purifying Cleansing Lotion (£3.29, now £1.59). I am so glad that I finally used it up, it took me almost those 9 months it suggests I should use it up after opening and the reason was simply I had a few cleansers of similar consistency opened, now I don’t want to have more than 2 products of the same kind opened at once, as I hate when some of them hang around for too long and I cannot move on to another or just waste the product for leaving it opened for too long. This is pretty much ordinary cleansing lotion, although when I tried it on my eyes, it didn’t sting them, but I wasn’t using it for eyes every day, so I cannot vouch for it as a good eye make up remover, I would say that mascara or long lasting eyeliner would be a bit of problem for this, but as a face cleanser it was a nice standard for my skin (dry skin type would probably need something richer).

B. Ready Day Cream SPF15 for skin phase 1 (£9.49, now on BOGOF offer). I wrote a post about the whole range of B. products and I can say I loved using them together. Although I am a bit older that phase 1 is recommended for, as my skin is oily, I think this skin range is enough for my anti-aging action. It contains hyaluronic acid and niacinamide which help keeping skin plump and smooth and controls blemish. It is supposed to create something B. call Glycofilm to shield skin against environmental aggressors. I might have find a tiny bit much for summer, but in winter when my skin is normal/oily, it was perfect. I don’t know whether they discontinued it or just renamed it because I cannot find it on Superdrugs site now, I found B. Confident Day Cream for phase 1 now so I put the link for that one.

B. Nourished Night Serum (£9.49 but is on buy one get one free offer now) is again packed with hyaluronic acid, niacinamide and antioxidant blend. It has a consistency of a light moisturiser, so 30 ml lasted me just something over a month but for the price (I bought it on half price offer) it is very worth giving a try. Again this product has been renamed to B. Confident Night Serum P1.

Nuxe Crème Prodigieuse Anti-Fatigue  Moisturising Cream for normal to combination skin (£21, now £14.70 for 40 ml tube). I got this 15 ml sample size in Latest in Beauty box last year. Again this moisturiser would normally feel a bit rich for my skin but now in winter it was okay and didn’t break me out. It has typical clean of perfumes French pharmacy smell which I like, but I don’t feel tempted to buy a full size, something lighter would be better.

Origins GingZing Eye Cream (£20 for 15 ml full size). I got this 5ml  sample size tube in a value pack I bought. I had a sachet sample before in the summer and I didn’t feel very impressed but it clearly shows that it is worth giving products a go at different times of the year because now when the consistency was not so runny from high temperatures, I actually liked it and I could clearly see the brightening effect on my undereye area.

L’Occitane Crème Divine (£74 for 50 ml). 8 ml lovely looking sample of this cream was included in the Spring British Beauty Blogger Latest in Beauty box. I could definitely feel that this moisturiser is working smoothening out wrinkles, firming and plumping my skin with almost immediate effect. Also, the smell was lovely, like a mixture of honey with lemongrass or lemon zest. On the less positive side, although it didn’t feel heavy, it made my skin quite shiny, especially in the T zone.

Yves Rocher Serum Vegetal Night Cream Wrinkles and Radiance (£23, now £11.99) was a really lovely night cream that might be a little thicker in consistency as a moisturiser for oily skin, but it didn’t feel heavy at all and I could easily use serum and oil with it as well. My skin really felt smoother and radiant when using this cream.

Emma Hardie Age Support Face Cream 5 ml sample that I got free for shopping with Feelunique. It is supposed to be rich in hyaluronic and natural peptide with a scent that reminded me of moringua, but I did not notice anything special except that it made my skin extra shiny, so cannot recommend for oily skin.

DHC Deep Cleansing Oil (from £1.75 to £21, now 20% sitewide on Escentual). It is a second sample size of this cleanser that I had and I also have a mini size. I quite like it, even if I have oily skin because it feels comfortable and it washes out easily with a damp facecloth. I might not use it every day and its liquid form might be a bit of a downsize for some people, but I really like it.

Starskin Brightening After Party Bio-Cellulose Second Skin Face Mask (£8.50) was a part of Powder Beauty Drawer last winter. It promises to be intensely energizing, dark-spot correcting, evens skin tone, skin texture smoothing and radiance boosting. It contains coconut, tetrapeptide-40, omega3 purslane, mallow, niacinamide cowslip, gentian root, sugar maple, lactobacillus and herbal melody. I am not sure about dark spot correcting but I still think it is amazing. My skin was almost completely smooth for 2-3 days after using this mask, and I had enough product left in the bag from the mask (it should be infused with 30 ml of serum) to last me for next 4-5 days. Although my face felt a bit tacky after this mask, so I had t wait 30-40 minutes before continuing with my normal skin care products after this mask,  I feel £8.50 for one use mask is somehow justifiable.

Yves Rocher Vitamin Face Mist (£7.50). This is botanical-based face mist containing organic pink grapefruit extract and organic chamomile water, no animal ingredients, paraben and alcohol free that promises to invigorate and refresh your skin as well as set your make up. I can vouch for the energizing effect paired with a lovely scent of pink grapefruit, but it is quite concentrated to be used to set make up. It has a bit tacky feeling though, so I loved using it  on my beauty sponge when applying foundation.

img_20170107_133456773

Make Up

Topshop Liner in Black Cab (£7.50) is really fast-drying and smudge proof eyeliner with fine applicator that allowed me a good control when lining my eye and I absolutely loved it. I have some other eye-liners to try now, but will definitely repurchase at some point in the future.

MUA Matte Lipstick in Peachy Keen (£1) is a very budget friendly lipstick, so you cannot expect that as matte lipstick would feel very comfortable or non-drying but I absolutely loved the colour even though it was a bit streaky.

L’oreal Fast Dry Top Coat is a pretty standard quick dry top coat that makes the top layer hard buy the ones underneath still need some time, so Seche Vite cannot be beaten with this. What I liked about it though was a wide flat brush that applied the product quickly and evenly in one sweep.

img_20170107_133823026

Body

The Bodyshop Frosted Cranberry Shimmer Lotion, Eau de Toilette and Hand Cream. I don’t usually like shimmer lotions and this one was almost like a highlighter but it was appropriate for the season. Frosted Cranberry is a lovely scent but as most of  TBS eau de toilettes, it didn’t last too long.

The Bodyshop Vanilla Brulee Hand Cream is from last years winter edition so it is not sold anymore and the consistency is a typical light TBS hand cream which I like, but some might prefer something richer.

Baylis and Harding Herbal Therapy Silky Hand & Body Lotion in Mulberry, Hollyhock and Thyme was part of gift pack that I got from Secret Santa at work. Pretty standard consistency but I really loved the herbal almost manly scent. If Baylis & Harding made body sprays, I would be interested in this one.

Avon Naturals Passion Fruit and Peony shower gel and body lotion is one of the cheap and cheerful Avon offerings. While the scent of shower gel felt a bit plasticy to me, I loved the body lotion.

Avon City Rush Glamour Eau de Parfum  is not sold anymore, but I quite liked this light flowery scent with sandalwood base notes.

Cien Men Shaving Gel Sensitive. I was skint and needed new shaving gel and as the female alternative was not available at the time and it was well under £1, I told myself it men can use it on their face, I can as well use it for my legs and I did and it did work well, I didn’t mind the manly scent.

Nip + Fab Body Bust Fix (£16, but often on 1/2 price offer) was a nice bust moisturiser keeping the skin in the area firm and perky, would buy again.

Heathcote & Ivory Atlas Silks Hand Cream (£7 for 100 ml). This 15ml tube got to me through my husband, it was again light and had a strong scent that I really loved. I might buy big tube in the future.

img_20170107_133951084

Hair

Viviscal Hair Growth 30 Maximum Strength Tablets I bought in Black Friday sales. 15 days is not enough to comment on its efficacy and as it is expensive, I don’t intend to buy more at the moment but I told myself, it would give my hair at least some vitamin dose. For now I bought a low concentrated Biotin from Holland and Barrett.

Avon Naturals Strand Strength Apricot and Shea Leave-In Treatment is one of my always repurchased products. It conditions my hair without weighing down and is cheap as chips.

Avon Naturals Daily Nourishment Superfruit Souffle in Yumberry & Yoghurt is a lighter hair product, but for £1 I bought it for, there is nothing to complain about.

Garnier Nutrisse Crème Nourishing Conditioner is a thick and creamy rich conditioner that came with hair colour. It was deeply nourishing and gave my hair lovely smell. The only complain is the bottle it came in, as it made getting the product out of it difficult.

 

 

