Used Up Products – Empties January 2017

img_20170202_102152697

Skincare

B. Pure Micellar Water is 3-in-1 water you can use for cleansing, toning and refreshing. Although it is ok for removing face make up, I do prefer eye make up remover for my eye as I don’t find any micellar water as effective for that purpose as those. What I liked using this water for now in winter was as a morning toner, as it is gentle and refreshing and for that purpose I would buy it again.

B. Refreshed Essence Lotion is together with hyaluronic acid facial spritz my favourite product from B. skincare to date. Although I did not like strong scent at the beginning of use, in the course of time I stopped noticing it. It contains hyaluronic acid to moisturise, allantoing to soothe and algae extract to soften an smooth. I decanted this lotion to spritzer and sprayed it on my face every morning and evening after toning before serum. It added that ‘je ne sais quoi’ to my winter skincare routine that made it perfect. Although I found those product getting my skin shiny a bit quicker in the summer, I will definitely repurchase for colder months again. Another thing I liked use it for was put one spray on the back of my hands before applying hand cream. I found my hands get softer that way.

Botanics Cleansing Toner All Bright was my evening toner. It contains AHA from hibiscus flower to act as a mild exfoliator. It is not as strong as Alpha H but it worked well as every evening toner. I did try to use it morning and evening but I noticed my skin got more sensitive (although not irritated). I can definitely recommend it for people on budget but if you expect dramatic result, you probably need to up your budget.

Garnier 2in1 Express Eye Make Up Remover is my no1 eye make up remover. I had it in my empties a few times. Good price (and there are always some 1/3 off promotions on Garnier) and very effective and gentle.

The Body Shop Tea Tree Cool and Creamy Wash is what I recommend for blemish prone skin in winter. Of course, if you are not used to tea tree, you can find smell of it a bit intimidating and also have to be careful not to get it close to your eye but all that should go away after some time of use as you get used to it. It is refreshing without drying out the skin.

Clinique Liquid Facial Soap Mild. This was part of Latest In Beauty box in collaboration with British Beauty Blogger. It is for dry skin so I did not find it as refreshing but as facial wash in winter, it did its job and had not particular fragrance.

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Lotion + for very dry to dry combination skin is another sample size from the mentioned LIB box. I did try it once on my face this winter and no surprise, I found it heavy for my face, so I used the rest for my hands and it did make them soft and moisturised. It did have a strong smell of charcoal though and it was a bit unpleasant till the scent vanished.

img_20170202_102609172

Elemis Cellular Recovery Skin Bliss Capsules was part of gift with purchase I made on Elemis website. It contained 14 capsules with oil, 7 pink ones with rose oil to use in the morning and 7 blue ones with lavender oil to use in the evening. I would normally not use so much oil, especially in the morning, but as I had to stay at home for some weeks because of my injury, I decided it is good opportunity to use it instead of moisturiser. And sure enough, using oil morning and evening on my skin proved too much and by day 6 my chin and jaw stared breaking out in several spots, so I cannot really recommend it for oily skin.

Elemis Pro-Definition Day Cream and Dynamic Resurfacing Night Cream are samples I got with Feelunique purchase. I cannot really comment about its efficiency as it lasted me only 1 day, but although it did not feel heavy, it took a while to absorb, so I don’t think it is anti-ageing product for my oily skin.

Caudalie Vinosource Moisturising Sorbet was again a 15 ml sample size from some beauty box (I am not sure which one) and I really liked it. It has consistency of cream-mouse and is light but moisturising will definitely buy a full size tube one day as Caudalie is one of the brands that I would like to explore better this year.

Skin Republic CoQ10 + Caviar Face Mask Sheet was again part of Lookfantastic December box. I usually keep sheet masks on for around 45 minutes as 15 minutes would waste a lot of product in my opinion. However it took quite a while to absorb into my skin and although it did provide what it promised, with my skin I would use it only as once in a while moisture pick me up.

img_20170202_102835036_hdr

Body

The Body Shop Frosted Cranberry Body Butter was part of the whole set of body care I bought last year in January sales. Standard TBS body butter consistency, pleasant berry fragrance. What’s not to like?

The Body Shop Frosted Cranberry Shower Gel. Same smell as the body butter and if you read regularly, you might have noticed I like fruity fragrance in my body products.

The Body Shop Moringa Hand Cream. TBS hand creams are one of my favourite as they absorb quickly and have a nice scent. This moringa one was good but not one of my favourite.

The Body Shop White Musk Eau de Toilette was small 10 ml bottle. It is quite nice but to me smell almost identical to Avon Soft Musk.

Avon Naturals Comforting Fig Scented Spritz. Pleasant smell but quite watered down but hey, I bought it for £1. No intend to repurchase though.

Avon Foot Works Marine Salt Hydrating Balm. I usually don’t like heavy balm consistency but as I apply this in bed before sleep, I find it nourishing. Fresh and clean marine scent is also a plus to me.

Nip+Fab Tummy Fix doesn’t make miracles, but it does help improve skin tone and texture on your tummy. With half price promotion I would buy again but wouldn’t for the full one.

img_20170202_102951471_hdr

Hair

Ojon Damage Reverse Thickening Shampoo. This sulfate free shampoo kept my hair shiny and healthy looking but it was not good in dealing with my flaky, greasy and itchy scalp although I basically apply my shampoo only on scalp. As my hair is also curly, thin and fine, I cannot wash my hair often, having itchy scalp next day after washing was not nice and that is the reason this shampoo is a no repurchase for me.

Lee Stafford Hair Growth Treatment. I read a lot of good things about this so I ordered 3 when it was on 3 for 2 offer. Although I don’t have a problem to grow my hair long, my thinning hair is a problem since I had my second daughter. So I thought I my help at least my hair shafts although it is not saying anything about hair getting thicker. I have been using it for a month only, so with my normally curly hair it is a bit difficult to comment on hair growth rate, but I noticed a lot of baby hair around my face, so we will see.

Avon Naturals Super Straight Serum is another good cheap Avon product that helps to tame the frizz on my hair. It has a consistency of gel/oil and I use just a tiny bit after washing and towel drying.

img_20170202_103104215

Make Up

Ciate London Triple Shot Mascara didn’t impress me much when I started using it but after 5-6 weeks when it dried a bit, I could see a point in using it. I liked it but was never able to apply it without smudging my eyelids.

 

 

