Illamasqua Hydra Veil Rehydrating Gel

img_20170221_103815018_hdr

If you read my blog regularly, you could see that I bought December Lookfantastic box as one off purchase without subscription and was quite happy with what I got for £15. Part of the box was 6 ml primer sample of Illamasqua Hydra Veil Rehydrating Gel.

I am not really a primer person if I am honest and I usually skip the step, especially in the summer, as most primers are silicone based and although they usually do smooth out my large pores and acne scarring in my T zone, I feel like my skin cannot breathe properly with them on even  if I am more than light handed with them and really apply in my T zone only. Finally, almost after 2 months after I bought the box, I finally told myself to give this little tub a try and what I can say is that I started reaching for it almost daily since then.

img_20170221_105431959

Let’s look first though, what Illamasqua claim on the  box first:

Part hydrator, part primer, Hydra Veil instantly hydrates and smooths skin through a self-levelling, futuristic clear gel. Microalgae, Vitamin C and B3 work together to help maintain skins hydration levels, creating a healthy looking, balanced finish. Plant extracts also provide calming and refreshing feeling, leaving skin fully prepped to apply your chosen foundation.

First of all, consistency of this primer/hydrator is like pot of jelly clear in colour. It feels quite watery when you get it on your fingers but once you spread it on your face, it is obvious that there is more than just water in it and it creates a bit tacky feeling on the skin so your foundation kind of clings on the face better. It might not fill in my pores fully or give blurry matte finish but it still feels much more comfortable than any other primer I tried before and I also noticed that despite having oily skin and using not very lasting nore mattifying foundation, the foundation still looks quite fresh, not soaked into my face in second half of the day so really is a winner in prolonging wear of foundation and I am not surprised that it is currently out of stock on Lookfantastic website despite £32 price tag.

What is your favourite primer?

 

