March 2017 Empties and Rejects (part 1)

IMG_20170330_093210491

It is again time for my empties and this time there is a bit more products because I also included some rejects that didn’t fully make it for me so I decided to finally throw them to the trash/carbage and I am dividing this post to two parts where first part is about empties and second one about the rejects.

Skincare

IMG_20170330_093628114

Sanctuary Spa Warming Detox Charcoal Wash is one of those products that I really hated when I started using but I really missed when it finished. This is greyish gel containing charcoal that feels quite sticky at the beginning but changes to warm oil after contact with skin and then  a foam washed out by water. As the bottom seems to be thicker than upper part of the product, I really hated it first week I used it – it was sticky, yucky on my oily skin and of course it smells like charcoal. I even pulled out other face wash from my stash so that I could use it if I felt that I really cannot bear using this wash. But after a week I got to the thinner and also darker part of the wash and I didn’t feel like I needed to use other face wash  as alternative anymore. So if you can bear with the initial stickiness, I would say that this is a very good winter face wash even for oily skin.

B. Revealed Glycolic Cleansing Peel. The name of this product is a bit confusing because it is in fact a cleansing cream containing glycolic acid to be used 2-3 times per week. It is quite good as a first cleanse although not the best but for the price (especially as it is often half price in Superdrug), I can’t complain.

Clinique Take the Day Off make up remover for lids, lashes and lips was very efficient at removing my eye make up without stinging, but so is my trusty Garnier 2in1 eye make up remover, so I can see myself buying a full size product only if I feel rich and spendy.

Roger et Gallet Aura Mirabilis Beauty Vinegar feels luxurious from the very first use. Many bloggers wrote about this line at the end of last summer when it was released and at the end I told myself it could be worth a try for my skin this winter. It smell as beautifully as you would expect from Roger et Gallet and give skin nice hydrating feeling. I used it as a toner/essence lotion in one as it is 2 phase product with a green oil part on top and you need to shake it properly before using on your face. However, I would really recommend this for oily skin in winter as I noticed that when I started using other toner in the morning, my day cream soaked in much better. It is worth using it for the beautiful smell alone.

Origins Flower Fusion Jasmine Softening Sheet Mask and Violet Nourishing Sheet Mask are in one paragraph because they both gave me similar lovely result and main difference to me was more or less just fragrance but I loved both mask so I take it as a positive thing.

Boots Ingredients Roobois Energising and Revitilising Sheet Face Mask was the first Boots sheet mask I decided to try and I also wrote a review about it so if you read it, you know I was not that impressed. I think this mask could be lovely on normal or dry skin but  on mine the serum just didn’t sink  in and left sitting on my face making it look and feel more or less greasy.

Boots Ingredients Moisturising and Nourishing Super Hyaluronic Sheet Face Mask was on the other hand more hit for me but I was at first shocked how it stang and it stang to the point of burning when I was really getting worried how my face will look like when I take it off but I persevered and it stopped burning after about 3 minutes or so and then I managed to leave it on for around 40 minutes. The mask fitted well, seemed quite wet at first but the serum soaked in very well. My face felt beautifully hydrated afterwards, was smooth, so I loved it at the end.

Bio-Essence Bio-Energy Snail Secretion Repair Mask is the product that I am very conflicted about. It really seems to do everything that it promises, my skin felt lovely afterwards, breakouts healed very quickly and nicely but then I read how snails are extracted, so I am not sure whether I would be buying any more.

Nugg Revitilising Face Mask with flaxseed and pepperming oil is what you need to moisturise and wake up your skin. Plus it earns points as a multi use product as I used leftover to massage into my feet and it felt great.

Avon Spa Luxuriously Refining Peel Off Face Mask with black caviar extract is your classic peel off mask that leaves your skin very soft tot the touch and for the price I really can fault it. Just that it takes time to dry completely so better use it in the evening or weekend.

Korres Wild Rose AHA 10% Peeling Mask is my star mask for the last month. Creamy mask that offers smoothening fine lines and discolorations and instant radiance and it also seemed to calm down my breakouts on two occasions so I will not call it a coincidence.

Avon Planet Spa Luxuriously Refining Eye Gel Mask with black caviar extract. I don’t really know what this is supposed to do (except for refining obviously) but my eye area look well (bright skin, smooth) when I was using it so again, can’t fault it, especially for the price.

Skincare Samples

Nuxe 24hr Soothing and Moisturising Cream was a free sample with purchase but I really liked it. It was light yet moisturising with a gentle flowery scent and I am putting it on the list of my possible future purchases.

DHC Extra Nighttime Moisture didn’t feel very heavy but left a bit greasy face although in the morning it didn’t feel greasy, so I  am not sure whether I would buy full size.

DHC Facial Scrub is for me one of the best physical scrubs I have tried (this is the third sample I had) and if I were shifting facial scrubs quicker and didn’t have any in my stash, I would have bought it, but for now, I’ll wait till I finish what I have.

Origins Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash is a creamy wash that feels very refreshing and I am putting it on my definite wishlist for full size purchases.

Body

IMG_20170330_094622963_HDR

Baylis&Harding Skin Spa Herbal Therapy Mulberry, Hollyhock and Thyme Steam Shower Body Cleanser didn’t seem to offer nothing special except for interesting herby fragrance. I got it from Secret Santa as part of a set.

Bloom and Blossom Bath and Shower Gel is a 99% naturally derived gel formulated with a sulphate-free foaming base without parabens, synthetics and petrochemicals, completely fragrance-free. I understand that it would be good for some pregnant women but for my shower gel I do expect some fragrance as it is one of the pleasures of daily hygiene.

Along Came Betty Be Firm Toning Cream is allegedly cellulite busting formula which I don’t believe any cream or gel can really busts itself but feels lovely, smells well although I would put it in a tub not tube where it was sometimes difficult to squeeze out from.

The Body Shop White Musk Libertine Body Lotion  and eau de toilette. Musk fragrances are not my favourite although there are some exceptions. Unfortunately, this is not one of the exception for me. It is wearable but to be honest I was also glad when my daughters played with it, as I wanted to finish quicker. On the other hand, maybe because of added oil element, I liked smelling it on my body more and it would be very good for summer as it was very light lotion.

Dr Ceuticals Bust Boost did not work best for me. I mean, it was moisturising but I would say that almost all  other bust moisturisers seemed much better value and I don’t think that I will repurchase this even for half price.

Roger&Gallet hand&nail balm with fig flower smells just a little different than I expected from fig body product but still great, as you cannot expect less from Roger&Gallet and it moisturised my hands real well.

Avon Foot Works Pomegranate and chocolate moisturising cream reminds me of chocolate jellies we used to hang on our Christmas tree when I was a child in the 80s and I really loved that before my sleep. Plus it does moisturise my feet.

Nuxe Reve de Miel Hand and Nail cream is a sample with a purchase. It was a bit heavier than hand creams I like usually use but it was great when I went to bed and as of course, it smells divine.

Nuxe Prodigieux le parfum is fragrance of the famous Prodigieux line and maybe one  day in next 5 years when I finally use up my overcrowded fragrance stash, I might buy this.

Haircare

IMG_20170330_094755924_HDR

Lee Stafford Hair Growth Treatment and Leave-in Treatment Spray. I already had both in my empties previously. I really like the treatment and I will definitely repurchase this in the future (there is still one in my bathroom), but as spray leave-in treatments go, I had some I liked better, so I don’t think I would repurchase.

Garnier Ultimate Blends Mythic Olive balm provides good mosturising for hair without weighing it down and olive fragrance is addictive. It is lovely for everyday use but I think that someone who needs heavy duty nourishment provider for hair, might not find it enough.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

