Superdrug Deep Action Pore Cleansing Pads

IMG_20170803_122219255.jpg

I noticed cleansing pads a long ago and that most of them have quite good reviews but as I prefer double cleanse and acids in the evening and always use toner, I wasn’t really sure where or when in my routine I could incorporate it. What appealed best to me is that most of the pads seemed to work well on acne prone skin. I was very tempted to buy COSRX pads because of great reviews but as I never used the pads before, I decided to start from lower price end and my choice went for Superdrug Deep Action Pore Cleansing Pads as I was repurchasing the spray from the range for my body acne and there was buy one get one half price promotion, on its own the price is £2.99.

Ingredients: Aqua, Hamamelis Virginiana Water (Witch Hazel), Alcohol Denat., Salicylic Acid, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Parfum, Chamomilla Recutita (Camomile) Flower Extract, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Alcohol, Tetrasodium Glutamate Diacetate, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Citrate, Citric Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Linalool, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Limonene, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone.

You can see from the list (alcohol, perfume etc) that it is not something for sensitive skin and it doesn’t even claim to, it is clearly stated on the tub.

IMG_20170803_122440114

As I said I didn’t use cleansing pads before so I wasn’t sure what to expect but was quite surprised that pads were a bit rough although I think that is also because of it providing some more exfoliation. The pads were well soaked but not dripping. I used the pads after cleansing in the morning as I cannot really imagine I would feel clean enough if I only used pads and I sprayed with Caudalie’s Beauty Elixir afterwards to cool my face a bit. I tried to use the pads twice a day but that seemed harsh on my skin like when you overexfoliate and it is beginning to be more sensitive but no other adverse reaction, so I would say once a day is enough.

I noticed that since I started using it around 3 weeks ago, my breakouts are on minimum and if I got some, they were just very small bumps in size of a pinhead, not angry red painful volcanoes. Despite staying in hot weather, blackheads on my nose are not that horrible either (but have to note that I use REN Clarimatte in the evening and retinol twice a week).

I know many people would refuse to use it purely because of the alcohol content alone but if you don’t have sensitive skin, once a day is fine and for the money it really did what it promised so it is great for people on budget.

